Poets logo

The Impossible Life

Mediocre is for losers

By Elaine GaoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
I am fire. Come at me if you dare.

Don't drip me a trickle, wash me with a torrent

A torrent of roaring waters, lawless currents.

Don't send me a breeze, ransack me with a storm

A storm of howling winds, chaos without form.

Don't light me a wick, set me burning to a blaze

A blaze of cavorting flames, fiery rays.

Don't offer me a flake, blind me with a blizzard

A blizzard of pouring hail, a winter wizard.

The hill you granted won't suffice

Meet me at the bottom of the cliff, the epitome of heights.

The cub lacks the jaws and fangs

Of a ferocious lioness, whose hunger and thirst I constrain.

You cuff my hands in shackles

When even the cage's metal bars I could tackle.

You plant my feet on the ground,

When the sky's the limit, and the world my playground.

It is in my blood, so burn me to ashes,

I flirt with fire, then fetch me the matches.

It's not in me to take the sideline,

Refusal to back down is not a crime.

Danger is my affinity, defiance my zeal,

So don't whisper, give me a peal.

I was born to run, born to surprise,

Born to live the impossible life.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Elaine GaoWritten by Elaine Gao

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.