Poets logo

The Heat of the Sun or the Heat in my Cheeks

a poem for anyone who has fallen in love with their best friend

By Canan DevorakPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Your Actions Prove that Love Comes from a Friend

Written for an Unnamed Friend

Though time and distance have kept us apart

I visit you a morning late in June

When I arrive, colliding with my heart

Is yours. They laugh, they cry, and talk till noon

Your parents drive us to an outdoor show

The sun: a weighted blanket on my back

But when my knees give out, my pressure low

Along you come to save me from the black

As you attend to me, I start to stare

Your hazel eyes and hands so gently mend

The cooling breeze is playing with your hair

Your actions prove that love comes from a friend

Although my heart will ache when leaving you

The pain is dwarfed by petals my lungs accrue

love poems
1

About the Creator

Canan Devorak

I am an amalgamation of many things - some weigh me down while others lift me up - which makes me a mess. Yet, despite all odds, I am still here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.