Poets logo

The Handsome Basilisk

Fairy Tail Love

By Bonnie BowermanPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
1
Created by the author using Midjourney

Sleeps in the sun, curled up in the dry grass like a cinnamon bun

His green eyes that hypnotize – closed. His sharp claws tucked and folded comfortably - under its nose

Jewel bright scales form a rainbow coronet - regal and rare

Thin wisps of smoke exhale with a hiss - with each raspy snore - there is just a faint lisp

A three hand-span long, perfect, Cockatrice, found unawares – no dire chance of a lethal glance or a fatal glare

Per chance, dreaming, of a time long ago, when he and his brethren ruled a world awash in blood red and the shaking in your boots, kind of dread

Of all the lovely screaming in the Warsaw terrors – rows and rows of townfolk statues so pleasing

Their grusome names spoken only in hush whispers of fear, not like now when they are hunted with mirrors

When he was not so alone – so horribly, horribly, alone

I do not dare touch him

I know, I should run away – and not look back

One glance will turn me to stone

Sleeping or not, he is still the deadly Serpent King

But he is so shiny, so captivatingly, beautiful – my heart flutters - I stay to gaze just one perfect moment more

Then one emerald eye opens wide

Too late now - my heart stops

humorsad poetrynature poetrylove poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Bonnie Bowerman

Just a curious soul with a crayon, at the beginning of my writing journey. There were many absorbing detours along the way.

I am so happy, I stumbled upon this community. The depth of talent here, takes my breath away!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    I would go cuddle with him and keep my eyes closed all the time. Hehehehe. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.