Poets logo

The Guilty Survivor

...

By Andre The FirstPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
7
The Guilty Survivor
Photo by Nubelson Fernandes on Unsplash

His blood is on my hands.

Washing them won't erase my sins.

As guilt crushes my heart.

My mind feels like it's falling apart.

Why won't my brain let me rest?

See, my subconscious is far too busy

Replaying every part

Of my misery.

As if it wishes to torment me

Until I confess.

Eating me up inside

So my body doesn't get any rest.

My mind is my prosecutor

While I'm on the defense.

You see I'm playing on both sides of the fence.

Trying to justify my actions

After putting myself on trail.

See he raped me

Yet I'm the one convincing myself,

"I did nothing wrong"

"And it's not my fault."

I was in the heat of the moment.

What could I have done that was so wrong?

"You played God"

"And took that man's life."

"You had no right."

"You don't get to pass judgment"

"And choose who's wrong or right!"

The prosecutor said to me.

I replied "But what about what he did to me?"

"Why did I deserve that"

"And he got to walk free?"

A continuous battle between me and me.

A war that no one can see.

I am a survivor

And yet I'm the one feeling guilty.

performance poetrysad poetry
7

About the Creator

Andre The First

Beginning my writing journey and hoping to inspire others to follow their dreams!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Aquielle Williams4 months ago

    This almost made me cry. I read it like 29 times. You write so well and I’m kinda speechless. Love you!

  • Nyisha Hallman4 months ago

    🔥 High Volume ‼️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.