Poets logo

The Death of Us

Every person has their season

By Andre The FirstPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
5
The Death of Us
Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

The echoing voices in my mind

Sound a lot like you

Repeating all the things

You said that we'll do.

Your ring still sits on my nightstand

While my heart is singing, I do.

Without you here

My dreams of you asking me

Will you marry me

Turn into a nightmare.

When I wake

I have to face the harsh truth

That you're no longer here.

We decided to go our separate ways

And let things be

At that moment, I declared you were dead to me.

No harsh feelings; I just had to let you go.

Yet you said let's work on our friendship

And I said no.

To protect me from any confusing feelings

I had to throw in the ropes.

Now I'm stuck convincing myself

It doesn't hurt

And our memories don't haunt me

But it only makes things worse.

The series of flashbacks remind me of the missed opportunity.

Now I'm sharing my last words with you like I was giving a eulogy.

Initiating the season of grieving

And leaving me dressed in all black

Until the season changes to healing.

sad poetryinspirational
5

About the Creator

Andre The First

Beginning my writing journey and hoping to inspire others to follow their dreams!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Zenaii Smith7 months ago

    Your art is always relatable for me . Thank you .

  • Toookyo10 months ago

    Speechless ! Like I said your poems always come on time 🥲✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.