Poets logo

The Grumpy Boy

Written for one of my sons, after a bad day. It's okay.

By Gail WyliePublished 9 days ago Updated 8 days ago 1 min read
3

I just want to be grouchy, I don't want to smile.

I want to be left all alone for a while.

I don't want to be friendly or good for the night.

I just to want to holler and perhaps even bite.

A rage is inside me, so so leave me alone

And then when it's over, I'll have new tone.

I don't want to be happy so just let me be.

Can't you respect what is happening to me.

It seems everything has gone wrong all this day.

So please won't you just get out of my way.

My toys are no fun and the TV's a bore.

And my mother just thinks up another hard chore.

My dogs in a temper and my cuddlebuns lost.

Oh please let me have silence, whatever the cost.

This truck is my truck and I don't want to share.

I may hurt your feelings but I really don't care.

It seems that I have to let all of this out.

So leave me alone, to scream and to shout.

I just want to be grouchy, I don't want to smile.

Oh please, won't you leave me alone for a while.

Family
3

About the Creator

Gail Wylie

Family therapist - always wanted to be a writer. Have published books on autism. Currently enjoying trying my hand at fiction. Loving the challenges of Vocal. Excited to have my first novel CONSEQUENCES available through Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani8 days ago

    This brought about a lot of feelings from the inner child in me. Well written!

  • Lol, this was very relatable. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.