Poets logo

The Grocer

and childhood firsts

By Sandra MatosPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
The Grocer
Photo by Calum MacAulay on Unsplash

Trigger-Non graphic abuse

Childish joy at being able to cross the street,

was how the tale began.

I thought I’d have to wait until eleven.

yet,

there I was at seven,

tip toeing across with grandma’s permission.

Bright sunshine that matched my smile, left me at the door,

of the grocer’s store.

Joy faded with each shuffle of my feet.

A nervous waiting, replaced it.

My nose filled with the smell of stale darkness.

Somewhere a cat sped by.

I was standing at the counter, but I could not see,

everything was taller than me.

“Salem 100’s” I said to the air. ‘Is anyone even there?’

The grocer makes me wait, past my turn.

And past

the next person’s

turn.

He told me that I wanted to help him behind the counter.

“Maybe I do.” I thought.

Another new thing for my new day.

When I was invited behind the counter,

I went as I was told.

It is something I always did

when I was seven years old.

The shelves back there were dirty with

sticky, dusty globs of cat hair.

And still,

I just stayed still.

I did what I was told.

There were so many splinters on the shelves back there.

If you grab on to them,

they will stick in you.

But I was quiet,

and I stood still.

I did what I was told,

like I always did when I was seven years old.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Sandra Matos

I write so that people will remember me. I make art for the same reason. I had a mother that I never knew. Who she was, how she smelled, or what she valued. I don't want anyone to wonder who I was.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming26 days ago

    Sandra, this got me in my gut. What a poem. "Maybe I do". This is the singular most powerful thing that I have read on Vocal this week.

  • ThatWriterWomanabout a year ago

    This was an excellent sad read. Well done :)

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    😞 ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.