Poets logo

The Green Machine

That Falls Unnoticed

By Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)Published 18 days ago 1 min read
The Green Machine
Photo by Dmytro Tolokonov on Unsplash

Imagine how you are able to touch

a ripe fruit such as mango

and take a bite from it.

Does it taste sweet in your mouth?

I'm sure it does.

We all love fruit

and appreciate their seeds

which carry within their DNA

the ability to procreate

many more trees and fruit.

Yet none of us

appreciate the leaves

that work tirelessly

day and night,

opening and closing their stomata

let alone allowing their chlorophyll

to be exposed to the sun

all day long

and eventually

get burn out and fall.

But that is their purpose.

To work to make that fruit.

Even when they fall,

new leaves grow

and take their place

while they return to earth

as mulch.

Thank God for the leaves.

Odenature poetryFree Verse

About the Creator

Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)

I love reading and researching to gain inspiration and ideas. I appreciate those who write and I hope I can inspire you with my writings too. 

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Novel Allen16 days ago

    Nature keeps turning her wheels, the cycle of life carries on. We too, will become mulch for the soil.

  • Oh no my friend, I don't like fruits, lol. Yea, I'm a weird human hehehehe. This was such a wonderful tribute to the leaves!

  • I liked it.

Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)Written by Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.