Poets logo

The Glorius Writing Pen

A Writer's Treasure

By J.B. MillerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Glorius Writing Pen
Photo by John Jennings on Unsplash

Pens, such simple everyday tools.

I admire them so.

Eyes lovingly devouring each time seen,

as I'm forced to hold back my drool.

The variety of tips, grips, styles and ink,

Can one become addicted to writing paraphernalia?

Pens drop into my cart; my collection grows.

I may have a problem, I think.

Hoarding; like a dragon with its treasure.

Hidden from my children;

As supplies quickly disappear

But I know their measure!

Cheap, decoy pens!

Those inferior writing styluses,

Those are beneath my notice.

It always works on the men.

There's the female spawn.

She knows quality

She knows my hiding places.

How impossible to protect my Babylon.

In desperation, I rain down gifts.

Unicorn tipped, fluff covered atrocities

pretending to be pens.

Sadly she knows she's been stiffed.

My collection raided, my treasured destroyed.

Yet a part of me is proud,

the spawn following in her mother's footsteps.

Another part wants to eat its young, less than overjoyed.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

J.B. Miller

Wife, Mother, student, writer and so much more. Life is my passion, writing is my addiction. You can find me on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/brandy28655/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.