Poets logo

The Garden of Eden

#VocalNPM

By Asha JohnsonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Garden of Eden by Asha Mone’ Johnson can be found in her debut poetry collection, POETIC LOVIN now available on Amazon and Kindle. 

The Garden of Eden

-Adam-

“She was the most beautiful woman I had ever seen.

Bronze skin sun-kissed by the wind.

Her hair reminded me of the clouds.

Her lips favored the roaring sea.

Those brown eyes.

It’s like I could see pain, pleasure and paradise in her pupils.

She smelled like honey.

She aged like wine.

Not a wrinkle in sight.

She had no flaws.

And if she did, I wouldn’t dare notice.

She was the epitome of perfection.

But when I looked at her, she was nothing like my reflection.

She was the opposite of my complexion.

I always thought love had no color, but it seems that color is all people see.

In my perfect world;

it would be she, and me.

In a garden called Eden.

Living on top of the world.

Bone of my bone.

Flesh of my flesh.

I loved her naked.

I love the parts she doesn’t want me to see.

She was perfection.

But in our world, it could never work.

So I was forced to spend the rest of my life searching for soul in an inhumane world.

In all the earth, there was never another woman like my rose.

She bloomed where she was planted.

She was rich soil to sow in.

Her thorns protected us.

She was given hate but reproduced a love like no other.

She was deep rooted in me.

But somewhere along the line, someone tasted a deceiving fruit of hatred and it yanked her from my grip.

Leaving me to labor alone by the sweat of my brow.”

-Eve-

“He was the sweetest man I ever met.

We were one.

It was as if I was literally pulled out of his rib.

Our heartbeats intertwined.

He always had this sparkle in his eye when he saw me.

His hair was like linen sheets.

He had the softest hands.

His soothing voice gave me goose bumps.

He was adventurous.

His red hair reminded me of the sun rays.

His freckles were as numerous as the specs of sand on the beach.

Those green eyes.

They reminded me of the trees in the summer.

He romanced me like never before.

He taught me to slow dance.

I loved the way he turned bright pink when I tickled him.

He was perfect.

There was no flaw in him.

And if there was, I dared not to notice.

The only flaw was the laws.

But love drew me back every time because he was worth the risk.

Sometimes I loved him more than myself.

Because In my perfect world;

It would be he, and me.

In a garden called Eden.

Living on top of the world.

Bone of my bone.

Flesh of my flesh.

He loved me naked.

But in our world it could never work.

Because he thought love had no color.

He said he doesn’t see color.

But if he couldn’t see my blackness, then he couldn’t see me.

He was naive.

But his love was innocent.

And in our world, innocence was stripped away and we were taught to hate.

He was given hate for being seen with a woman like me, but he still chose to let his love rain.

In all the earth, there was never another man like my Vine.

He was uprooted.

He was grounded.

He had a green thumb.

He brought the dead back to life.

But somewhere along the line, someone tasted a deceiving fruit of hatred and it yanked me from his flowerbed.

Leaving me to labor alone; waiting for love to rain again.”

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Asha Johnson

@ashajohnsonpoetry on IG

Have a Seat; I’ve Been Expecting You.

Metro Detroit Based.

Author of #PoeticLovin

Available on Amazon and Kindle. Get your copy NOW! ❤️

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1792071183/ref=cm_sw_r_oth_api_i_2Z4uCbRQ64KA8

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.