Poets logo

I Previously Clung To A Grievance

English

By Ken Clepper Published about a month ago 1 min read
A Heavy Heart

"I once clung to a grudge for so long, I forgot the original dispute. I allowed anger to construct a vast metropolis in my mind, and I served as its mayor for far too many years. The streets were paved with bitterness, the buildings towered with resentment, and the air was thick with hostility. But, as time passed, I began to realize that this city was not only exhausting to maintain but also toxic to inhabit. The constant noise of anger, the pollution of hatred, and the isolation of resentment took a toll on my well-being. However, I've come to understand that nurturing such resentment is not worth the burden it carries. Forgiveness may be elusive, but it's the only place I desire to call home. It's a peaceful haven, where understanding and empathy reside, and the cost of living is significantly lower. The air is fresh, the skies are clear, and the community is supportive. Thank you for guiding me towards this realization, for helping me evacuate the city of anger and relocate to the town of forgiveness. I'm grateful for the journey, and I'm at peace in my new home."

nature poetryinspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Ken Clepper

Versatile wordsmith and history buff: poet, author, essayist, and enthusiast of the past."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ken Clepper Written by Ken Clepper

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.