Poets logo

The Gaping Wound...

A Poem By Ken Cruz

By Kenneth cruzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

This gaping wound

Open hole blistering and festering

I push on

But I’m dead inside

Feels like I’m already doomed

Persisting and resisting

Hoping I become numb and damage undone

But I can’t run

And the pain is to great

I wonder if life’s already sealed my fate

Will I see those pearly gates

Or can I press on

And find a cure to my macabre state

Wake up to a full a plate

Wife and kids playing outside underneath the sunshine

I’ve lived under the sun but spilt so much blood that soul slowly succumbed to this valley of the death

No I push on but it feels like there’s nothing left

Like I can’t lift the heavy weight that’s on my chest

And I can barely breathe a breath

I wonder if I can even find a peaceful place to rest

No I have to press

On and forward

Into this dark abyss

And hopefully this wound will heal and cease to exist

Hopefully soon I can undo all of this

Or if I fight on into my grave

With honor depravity and rage

Like a dying animal uncaged

Trying to find my place

And not let this gaping wound

Make the rest of my days a waste

love poems
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.