Poets logo

I Walked Out Of Heaven

Another one of my favorite works...

By Kenneth cruzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

I left heaven

Walked straight out

Cause I was too afraid

That’s my refrain

Now back to the disdain

A willing victim to the pain

I left the sunshine and chose rain

Cause I was to ashamed

Didn’t think that joy knew my name

Now stuck in this cycle of the same

Playing the same sad game

Existence spent dodging and jumping from train to train

Trying to stay sane

But the pattern is as volatile as a murder scene

So caught up in this bad dream

Like an mvp that lost his team

Or a king turned to a peasant

Left wondering if he can reclaim that moment of gleam

Wondering if this is just a temporary movie scene

Walking slowly down this thin crack splintered wooden beam

Like a kettle all out of steam

Or rusted metal that’s lost it’s sheen

A lost star burning bright that has yet to be seen

A motion sick victim yearning for promethazine

A torn page from an old magazine

An old infected wound that needed to be cleaned

But instead left to rot and stew

Like old overgrown mildew

This world has grown stale

And I long to bid my adieu

I’d rather not use the word die

Because I feel more like Tom cruise

In vanilla sky

As I long to know the truth and be freed from the lies

And like Shawn Mendez I’m too good at goodbyes

So in the end I long to look thru the looking glass and and share my farewells without any more questioning how or why

Just a soft whisper good bye

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.