Poets logo

The Funeral

An extraterrestrial event.

By Ashley LimaPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
25
The Funeral
Photo by micheile henderson on Unsplash

I found your body, sad and strewn,

Around the forest at high noon.

Upon your arrival, I wept for you,

And vowed to show what humans do.

-

I laid your corpse amongst the hay,

So you could feel the light of day,

On your strange skin, so soft and grey,

I dropped to my knees and began to pray.

-

From where you came, I did not know,

But with care I took you, nice and slow.

Upon washing your fingers and your toes,

I saw your insides begin to glow.

-

Is this a thanks from outer space?

Are you alive by some form of grace?

I took to my feet and began to pace.

Unsure what was next, I studied your face.

-

Your eyes continued to remain ever closed,

Your chest wasn't beating, for this I did know.

Do alien species breathe differently than most?

This was so new to me; was it all just a hoax?

-

I left your body in search of fresh flowers,

To adorn your grave site with all of my power,

It was the least I could do for a life that did matter,

To show that humanity was not left in tatters.

-

I found a bed of daisies, both white and fragile,

Before throwing some lady's lace into my satchel,

Then stumbling upon a patch of wild bluebells,

I began building a bouquet from all the sweet smells.

-

I wandered back to your final place of rest,

Hoping my efforts were enough for our guest,

I put some of the flowers on top of your breast,

Then placed the remainder around your round head.

-

"Here lies a friend whose name is unknown,

From faraway places to Earth, they did roam.

They came in peace in a spaceship of chrome,

They are free to sleep; this planet, their final home."

love poemsnature poetryfact or fiction
25

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    I missed this poem! A very different and emotional slant to the challenge. I liked this one for being different! I should have read this aloud, but when I read it in my head ‘satchel’ had the greatest sound! ☺️

  • Omggggg, this was so emotional! I wish he wasn't dead 🥺🥺🥺

  • Such brilliant creativity and delivered in such an emotive way 🥹 ❤️✨

  • Sid Aaron Hirji8 months ago

    Wow I feel I might cry

  • Trip L.8 months ago

    how sweet and touching

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    If we can show compassion for pets and other animals why not show some to a more advanced species. Great concept and your writing is amazing.

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Rather sweet...!

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    Such a cool and interesting poem, really enjoyed it

  • Lana V Lynx8 months ago

    What an imagination you have!

  • Dailyn Townes8 months ago

    This was masterfully put together; and beautiful in every regard. Thank you for making my day Ashley!

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Oh wow this was unexpected in every way for me. I love it, Ashley! The care portrayed towards the alien is the most alien thing about this poem, I think. I can’t imagine anyone would do this if they found an alien body. I think you captured something really unique here, for the challenge’s prompt. Well done!

  • Berry Driven8 months ago

    Just beautiful. Sounds like something I would do (and have done for road kill) if I found a battered body.

  • Ian Read8 months ago

    Sad and powerful! And not to mention a truly unique take on the challenge!

  • Andrei Z.8 months ago

    "Swiss Army Man" came to my mind. Was Radcliffe actually playing a human-shaped alien?:-D Nice poem! Did they get shipwrecked?

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    I like this a lot!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.