Poets logo

The Fourth

Time passes but even if they are no longer there, memories still linger

By A. NguyenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Fourth
Photo by Arthur Chauvineau on Unsplash

It’s been a year.

Different place, same me;

same holiday, different feeling.

Colorful explosions and patriotic music

feels lackluster to the fourth with you.

*:・゚✧

An hour’s tardiness forgiven

with that warm yet distant smile.

The reds, whites, and blues,

all background to awkward

conversations, shy laughter,

truly a night to remember.

*:・゚✧

You bid me farewell,

safely at my car door;

a proper gentleman

but I was the villain

of this story. A few days,

an apology was sent

before goodbye… forever.

*:・゚✧

You who were too kind,

too patient, too accepting

of just… everything;

making it so much harder

but it wasn’t enough.

My feelings stayed the same

even with the fireworks giving

a rose-colored lens,

there were no sparks

or racing hearts.

*:・゚✧

Cutting ties was my last

kindness to you

who was undeserving

of half-assed intentions.

Insurance, that loneliness

wouldn’t make me do

something I would regret.

*:・゚✧

It’s unfair of me to say this,

to say that I’ll always remember

the fourth of July we spent together,

so I hope this never reaches you.

Unlike your own apology poem

that you hoped would reach

the poor soul of your own villain

story because even good people

end up doing bad things sometimes.

love poemssurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.