Poets logo

The Fool & The Liar

My First Mistake

By Mercedes ChavezPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Artist Unknown

I know you told everyone lies

But what you cannot deny

From day one

You were the first to say,

"I love you"

You threw dirt on my name

Two chances I gave

What a shame

You won't admit it

I was your first

Taught you everything you know

You tried so hard to keep us on the low

For so long you made me feel less than I was worth

You were such a mama's boy

You played me like a toy

Why I tried so hard to make things work

I will never know

I caught you in your lies

I laid out all the proof

Like the liar you are

You still tried to deny it all

And tried to convince me to stay

Leaving was the best decision I ever made

Not to throw shade

But I hope your new girl sees you for who you truly are.

sad poetryheartbreakFree Verse

About the Creator

Mercedes Chavez

Come with me, lets go on an adventure together, see the world through my eyes, let me paint a picture with my words, I promise you will be able to feel what I felt the first time I experienced it. Love, sadness and everything in between.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mercedes ChavezWritten by Mercedes Chavez

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.