Poets logo

The First Introduction

To a Stranger of Earth

By Obsidian WordsPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Extraterrestrial Challenge
10
The First Introduction
Photo by Dev Benjamin on Unsplash

They touch down

More, crash land

And make a gesture

With a six-fingered hand

They look curious

Though mostly lost

And briefly I ponder

What their journey has cost

Their skin is strange

Striated with veins

The colour of bruises

Or mulberry stains

I help hold them steady

As they get to their feet

They are hairless and slender

With eyes colours of wheat

They seem to assess me

Before they take in the surrounds

All the while making

The most peculiar sounds

The trees hold their awe

And so does the grass

Whilst the sun reflects off them

Like they’re made of soft glass

The birds serenade us

Unaware of the stranger

And I wonder a moment

If we are all in danger

I stare at them deeply

Their posture and stance

And figure it can’t hurt

To give them a chance

I

decide in that moment

To treat them with trust

After all, they are new here

So it only seems just

The look of happiness

Is universal it seems

Strangely shaped teeth

Are revealed as it beams

I think for a second

Where it’s best to start

Earth is a huge place

Filled with music and art

I consider fresh coffee

Or the park down the street

I wonder what they need

What even do they eat

I think of a library

Or the museum of history

What to show first

When this world is a mystery

I am overrun

With thoughts about places

The possibilities

The near endless spaces

But right then it hits

Before we go on this spree

The first introduction

Should surely be me

slam poetry
10

About the Creator

Obsidian Words

Fathomless is the mind full of stories.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    I loved the simplicity and personal touch you gave this. Well done on your placement in the challenge. The ending seals it for me!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Congratulations!!!

  • Raymond G. Taylor7 months ago

    Beautifully written verse. Congratulations on your win!

  • Alison McBain7 months ago

    Ha, love the ending! Great poem.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Beautifully written. Congrats

  • Trinity H8 months ago

    love love love!!! i would feel very comfortable to meet you if i was an alien

  • That's so nice to start with yourself! Loved your wonderful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.