Poets logo

The First Day

How do you do?

By Kendall Defoe Published 7 months ago 1 min read
14
The First Day
Photo by Michael Herren on Unsplash

Is it strange

to arrange

an exchange

to derange

and gear-change

as we interchange

and estrange

to create change

in our range

of life's downrange

counterchange...?

*

An alien here?

Rather dear...

So, let me be clear:

We come with no fear

to be near

a visitor without peer,

introduced to our sphere,

and our austere

lives that adhere

to lies we revere.

Try the beer!

We're only mere

mortal steer

who live on a frontier

of an end that always lies near.

Consequences, consequences...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentarysurreal poetryperformance poetrylisthumorfact or fiction
14

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Kay Matthews7 months ago

    Awesome. Like the photo too.

  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    This better place or I'm going to burn something to the ground 😂

  • Whoaaaa, you rhyme sooooo well! Awesome work!

  • I'm not sure which I enjoyed more, the poem or the picture that followed, lol.

  • Ha! This was fun

  • Lana V Lynx7 months ago

    What if the aliens are our long-departed relatives?

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.