Poets logo

The Feeling of Something Ending

(Fireworks)

By Erin LockhartPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Feeling of Something Ending
Photo by Kristian Løvstad on Unsplash

There sits a light that wasn’t there before,

And all that’s illuminated I’ve never seen.

A dread makes its home in my heart,

Made of something I don’t know,

Can’t know until it’s over.

I have to find out

Or else I'll be here for eternity.

Doomed to wander.

But my hands are burning

With the embers of something

I can’t, could never, outrun.

My footsteps lead in a circle

And all this is senseless,

And the glow of the city

Doesn’t reflect back at me.

I take another step and

Suddenly it all vanishes

In a flare of smoke

And fireworks

And fireworks

And fireworks.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Erin Lockhart

Resident goth, metalhead, poet, illustrator, and ghost.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.