Poets logo

House of Mirrors

Isolation really gets to your head, doesn't it?

By Erin LockhartPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
https://unsplash.com/photos/QRawWgV6gmo

It’s not dark, it’s never dark.

I can always see glints of myself,

Of strangers whose bodies

Scatter at the sight of wide pupils.

I can see the way they flicker,

How they scratch their nails against

Clean glass that never cedes.

They want to leave. I don’t blame them.

It’s always bright, too bright.

I close my eyes and I can

Still see the infinity

Of mirrors upon mirrors,

Corridors polished and warped.

When I open my eyes again,

I can hear the strangers, the glass,

Distant and lingering.

Waiting.

I run after them, and my footsteps ring,

But I end where I began.

I look in that mirror

And I swear I see someone else

Reflected in my eyes.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Erin Lockhart

Resident goth, metalhead, poet, illustrator, and ghost.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.