Poets logo

The Far Side of Forever

In the hills along the bay

By Cathy holmesPublished 7 days ago 1 min read
author's photo

On the far side of forever,

in the hills along the bay,

the seabirds carry secrets

of the ones who lost their way.

*

In the watery graves of dreamers,

drawn to the sailors’ song,

the whales do sing in elegy

of their wanderlust gone wrong.

*

As the sun sets on the horizon,

drawing closed another day,

I think about the fishermen

beyond the hills along the bay.

*

Respectfully, I bow my head

to the mighty ocean blue,

and pray that she’ll be gentle,

and that home, she’ll guide them to.

*

On the far side of forever,

though my heart may long to stray,

my feet stand on the rocky shore

of the hills along the bay.

nature poetryinspirationalGratitudeEkphrastic

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (28)

  • Heather Hublera day ago

    Incredibly beautiful poetry, my friend. Your words just swept me away. Loved the pic!!

  • Gerald Holmes3 days ago

    Simply Beautiful. Well done Sis.

  • Hannah Moore3 days ago

    I kind of want to see this illustrated with paintings.

  • Rasma Raisters3 days ago

    Beautiful and love the rhythm and rhyme here,

  • Thoom Willit4 days ago

    So sad. I hope the sea guides their lost souls to peace. What a beautiful sentiment ❤️

  • Some wonderful words Cathy

  • Very soothing lines. Refreshing our minds.

  • Novel Allen6 days ago

    I wish I was standing there right now, sounds so lively. UMMMMM! Meditation.

  • K. Kocheryan7 days ago

    Oh, this was so pretty. The first stanza is fantastic!

  • D.K. Shepard7 days ago

    STUNNING!! An absolutely top notch piece of poetry! Lovely photo too!

  • Grz Colm7 days ago

    PHOAR… this had a bit of a punch for me of something that happened to a friends’ family members quite recently! I didn’t know them but yeah, challenging for my friend. Beautifully written as always Cathy! ☺️👏 Hope you are travelling well too. Have a good one!

  • Gina C.7 days ago

    Absolutely gorgeous 🥹

  • Fly Alone7 days ago

    Longing, loss and reverence for the sea. Climax: Painfully affecting the feelings. Great...

  • Bugsy Watts7 days ago

    This poem moves like gentle waves lapping on the beach. Well done, Cathy!

  • Your poetic verses paint a poignant and evocative picture of the mysterious and treacherous nature of the sea, great work!

  • Andrea Corwin 7 days ago

    YEAH, that is where my feet prefer, the shore!! Beautiful poem, Cathy, I loved the rhyming and the visuals.

  • Caroline Craven7 days ago

    Stunning. I really loved this.

  • Poppy 7 days ago

    So gorgeous Cathy

  • Ohhh .... so beautiful and melancholy... a poem like a seagull's cry.

  • This had a sense of melancholia and made me feel things that I can't quite put into words. Loved your poem and your gorgeous photo!

  • This feels timeless and transcendent- a beautiful requiem for the wandering and lost. <3 I want to turn it into a song, it feels rhythmic and musical!

  • Babs Iverson7 days ago

    Beautiful nature poem!!! It touched my heart!!!♥♥♥

  • John Cox7 days ago

    This is rhythmic delight, Cathy! I loved it! I love the pic too! Great work!

  • Love this so much!! Very beautiful poem!

Cathy holmesWritten by Cathy holmes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.