Poets logo

The falling moon

As I sit outside in the stillness of the night, I can't help but notice the moon slowly descending towards the horizon.

By Jackson Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Looking s a lways captivated me, the way the moon seems to float effortlessly through the sky, casting a soft glow on everything below. But tonight, as I watch it fall towards the earth, I can't help but feel a sense of sadness wash over me. It's as if the moon is a metaphor for something greater, something I can't quite put my finger on.

Perhaps it's the way the moon seems to be slipping away, gradually fading from view. It's a slow descent, but one that's impossible to ignore. The moon, like so many things in life, is transient. It comes and goes, waxing and waning, moving through its phases like a clock ticking away the hours. And yet, even as I watch it disappear from view, I can't help but feel a sense of wonder at its beauty.

The falling moon is like a reminder of the impermanence of life. It's a symbol of the passing of time, of the inevitability of change. And yet, even as the moon falls towards the earth, there is a sense of grace and beauty to its descent. It's as if the moon knows its time is coming to an end, but it faces that end with dignity and poise.

I can't help but think about the things in my own life that are slipping away, the things I can't hold onto no matter how hard I try. Time moves on, and with it, so do the people and things we love. It's a painful truth, but one we must face nonetheless. And yet, even as I mourn the things that are lost, I can't help but appreciate the beauty of what remains.

The falling moon is also a symbol of change. It's a reminder that nothing stays the same forever, and that even the things we take for granted can disappear in an instant. The moon may seem like a constant in our lives, but even it is subject to the whims of the universe. And so, we must learn to adapt and change with the world around us, to find beauty in the new and unfamiliar.

But even as the moon falls towards the earth, there is a sense of hope to its descent. It's a reminder that even as things change and slip away, new things will take their place. The moon will rise again, just as the sun does each morning, and with it will come new opportunities and new beginnings. It's a message of hope and resilience, a reminder that even in the darkest of times, there is always a glimmer of light on the horizon.

As I watch the moon disappear from view, I'm struck by the sheer magnitude of the universe. We are but small specks in a vast and infinite cosmos, and yet, even in our insignificance, we are capable of feeling wonder and awe at the beauty around us. The falling moon is a reminder of our place in the grand scheme of things, and of the beauty and fragility of our existence.

In many ways, the falling moon is like a work of art. It's a fleeting moment of beauty, a reminder of the impermanence of life. And yet, even as the moon falls towards the earth, it leaves behind a lasting impression. It's a memory that will stay with me long after the moon has disappeared from view, a reminder of the power and majesty of the natural world.

As I sit here in the darkness, watching the falling moon, I'm filled with a sense of peace and tranquility. It's a reminder to slow down, to appreciate the beauty around us, and to find solace in the passing of time. The

fact or fictionnature poetryart
Like

About the Creator

Jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.