Poets logo

The face

A Poem

By Wayne CoolidgePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The face
Photo by 辰曦 on Unsplash

Sometimes......

I like to sit in my chair beside the window and peer out at the world around me.

I like to pretend that I am a bird, and can fly with the clouds as they drift endlessly through the late summer sky.

But today as I sit in my chair beside the window,

I am sad,

for there is no sunshine to brighten and warm my day, no soft white clouds for thoughts to ride lazily upon..... only dark cold ones that hint at a storm.

I look to the west where the sun should be,

and catch a glimpse of something else,

a bird or a plane,

I think at first, but it is neither of these things.

It is closer now,

I can make it out to be a face....

It is the same face that comes to me in my dreams at night.

The face is smiling at me now, so I smile back.

It is by far, the most beautiful thing that I have ever seen..... no doubt an angel, sent from the heavens just for me.

With long locks of flowing blond hair that seem to glisten and shine, bringing life to the still wind that surrounds it.

The eye's are a piercing blue, and oh so very deep.

Finally, there is that smile, it is all encompassing.

In radiant arouras of rainbow colored fragmented light, that smile beams down from the sky, though my window and into me, somehow touching my very soul, making me whole inside and out, releasing me from the constraints of this dull and uninhibited life.

The face is starting to fade from the sky now,

and I can hear my self start to plead....

"Wait....Please don't go!!!!"

But it is of no use, for the face simply fades away, until it is nothing more than a silent phantom imprinted upon my memory, and I am sad once more.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.