Poets logo

Autumn Leaves

A poem

By Wayne CoolidgePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
3

It was in the spring that we came to be,

Like two leaves budding from a tree,

Green and vibrant,

reaching into the wind,

looking for life,

finding a friend.

Summer came,

and we survived the heat,

flourishing almost magically

with in our little tree,

with every kiss,

we tasted the sweetness of forever,

with every touch our innocence scattered,

with the dry season came the storms,

but the bond between us had grown strong,

and could not be shattered.

September found us,

still clinging to the limb,

now as two Autumn Leaves,

our life's a bright with dazzling

colors of orange, reds, and greens,

we became as one,

dancing on the edge of every night,

stealing from the moon and stars,

feeding off their godly light.

But then winter came,

it's coldness began to taunt,

began to tease,

we stood together,

just as we had vowed,

and yet,

you could not withstand the freeze.

Through an eternity of nights,

and an eternity of days,

through sickness and then death,

I cried angrily as you lay,

from the branch,

you soon fell,

helpless,

I could do nothing,

as through the wind you began to sail.

Like some beautiful seed,

I planted you in the ground,

but no flower ever grew from your crypt,

and as I watched,

my joy was lost forever,

never again to be found.

And then there was just me,

left alone on our broken and shattered tree,

withered and withdrawn,

soon to blow away,

I love you,

forever in my dreams,

will I hear you say.

Damned to become just another

phantom chasing the breeze,

forever shall I haunt these roots,

in search of my lost autumn leaf.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.