Poets logo

The Eye of Existential Storm

Respite

By Insinq DatumPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Eye of Existential Storm
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

I guess one day I died inside

But who’s to say just when it was

A mess I may have tried to hide

My part I play perfectly cause

x

I know the way things have to go

For no one Sol can run the show

We cannot stray from how things flow

And so my role is to tempo

x

To temper, tame and subjugate

It’s all the same at any rate

Divine delusions, dare I sate

My mask I maim in name of fate

x

For I divine this place of mine

Among the stars and caught in time

And with this sign I do align

As I draw bars between the rhyme

x

Conjure a cage upon this stage

With words which are immune to age

Bindings made of sadness and rage

Forgive me for turning the page

x

For it was not my choice you see

And can’t you tell how hard I tried

No-one escapes their destiny

And once I fell my hands were tied

x

I wish they weren’t but what’s it worth

When wishes earnt their share of mirth

Although they do serve to unearth

What does, to you yet seem a dearth

x

But I’ve known what I’ve lacked so long

That when I hear death call my name

It sounds to me a lovely song

And not scary as others claim

x

In death’s embrace we know our place

No saving face or keeping pace

To peace perhaps people should race

For to forget without a trace

x

All of the things that you once knew

Is freedom in its purest form

To me, that sings of something new

The eye of existential storm

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Insinq Datum

I'm an aspiring poet, author and philosopher. I run a 5000+ debating community on Discord and a couple of Youtube channels, one related to the Discord server and one related to my work as a philosopher. I am also the author of DMTheory.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.