Poets logo

The Elixir

Stumbling around in the morning

By KA Stefana Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
3
The Elixir
Photo by tabitha turner on Unsplash

I stumbled out of bed

Sleep addled brain

Foggy and forgetful

As I wander down the hall

Making my way to the kitchen

~~~

Stare into the cupboard

For my favorite mug

But it's nowhere to be found

It's not on the counter

Or dirty in the dishwasher

~~~

Run my hands through my hair

I'm disheveled and distressed

Where could it be

Panic starts to grow

When something catches my eye

~~~

Sitting on the opposite counter

Is my mug waiting for me

Steam waifs in the air

As the black elixir calls to me

I reach out to grab it

~~~

Instantly

It disappeared

Was it all just a dream

Or a nightmare

In the making

**********************************

Author's notes

Thank you for reading my story! It means a lot. If you really loved this story, please check out my other stories, leave a comment, or share with other readers.

I hope you enjoyed this little poem! Here are a couple of links to my other poems:

Pages

The Winter Willow

Shadows & Mist

Finally, if you have a story that you think I might like, feel free to leave a link in my comments, and I will check it out. I really love fantasy stories, if you can tell. Oh, and good food, too!

Stream of ConsciousnessFree VerseFor Fun
3

About the Creator

KA Stefana

I started writing as a hobby during quarantine. From a hobby, a passion bloomed. Author of Dark Fantasy with a twist of romance. Available on KU - The Origins of Darkness, The Daughters of Darkness and The Forgotten.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.