Poets logo

Shadows and Mist

Lovers separated by yet another nameless battle.

By KA Stefana Published 12 months ago 5 min read
3
Shadows and Mist
Photo by Shadman Sakib on Unsplash

Drumbeats

Steady in the darkness

Soldiers marching

To another

Aimless battle

Here I am

Alone again

By the fire

Watching the flames

Dance in the wind

I reach out for you

But it's only

Shadows & mist

Missing your warmth

Underneath my furs

But all I cling to

Is this eternal darkness

Day after night

Night after day

My heart's missing yours

Beats irrationally

With every mourning call

I can't let my mind

Go to dark places

Mustn't show tears

Around the others

But I just want to

Fall to my knees

Begging our ancestors

To bring you back

By my side

Your warm breath

Upon my skin

Sending chills

Down my spine

Your lips

Touching mine

Arms tightly holding me

Bringing me to

The end of myself

I reach out for you

But it's only

Shadows & mist

There is so much

To tell you

As I hold my

Hand to my swollen belly

Wondering if you'll

Get to name

Your child

Or if a stranger's sword

Will fell you in

Another nameless battle

Pulling my furs tighter

Won't bring

Comfort or warmth

Until the drumbeats

Send you home

With breath

In your lungs

Standing upright & tall

Calling my name

Upon your approach

When I reach out for you

You will be so much more

Than mere

Shadows & mist

~ * ~

Dense fog

Hugs the ground

In the gray

Morn's sky

My body's numb

From lying

On the solid ground

Can't recall if I slept

For I dreamt of you

All night

How I miss your warmth

Your touch upon my skin

Your body next to mine

Wrapped in my furs

I long to seek

Another world

Without the death

Destruction

Daily battles

And the land

Soaked in innocent blood

How many men

Rest below the earth

Their names called out

Upon the mourning list

Shall my name

Be printed there too

This sword I carry

Grows heavier

With every march

My footsteps

Carry me away

From where I long to be

I reach out for you

But it's only

Shadows & mist

Without you

My spirit is broken

By the eternal darkness

Day after night

Night after day

The battle for land

Power and greed

Rages on

I brush off the dirt

From yesterday's battle

Wield my sword

Looking my enemy

In his fear-filled eyes

I step away

Without a word

When his battle axe

Falls to the ground

I pretend not to care

Standing over his

Broken body

But I wonder

If, if

He has left behind

A maiden as fair

And lovely as you

Concentration broken

I feel the piercing pain

Of a deathly blow

My body falls

Among the dead

I close my eyes

In mourning

For the life

Stolen from me

For this nameless battle

I fret for you alone

In this cold

Heartless world

Dream of gentler times

To be back in your arms

Closing my eyes

I give into the

Darkness

Calling to me

Reaching out for you

Longing for so much more

Than mere

Shadows & mist

~ * ~

My knees buckle

When I see the

Herald's eyes

I know

I just know

Your name

Shall be read today

Upon the

Mourning call

I cover my ears

Close my eyes

If I can't hear your name

You shall not be dead

I slowly reach out to you

Hoping against hope

That you will be so much more

Than mere

Shadows and mist

~ * ~

Consciousness returns

Fading in & out

The searing pain

Relentless

But I try to crawl

From the putrid air

Clinging to the dead

Desperately trying

To flee the battlefield

I whisper your name

Longing for your touch

My mind wanders

To days long past

Your presence

Enough to revive me

Lost in the muck & mire

A hand grabs mine

Pulls me from the dead

Tosses my broken body

Into the pile of the wretched

Bloodied and departed

Longing to come home

I reach out to you

But you're just mere

Shadows & mist

I smell the sickly sweet

Blood upon my clothes

I look as good as dead

Perhaps they will

Bury me alive

Putting me out

Of my misery

I beg to go home

To die by your side

No one listens to my cries

As the wagon

Rambles on

Through this eternal darkness

Day after night

Night after day

I reach out for you

But it's only

Shadows & mist

~ * ~

Voices shouting

A wagon returns

The dead have

Been buried

The mourning list

Read again

I've no more tears

No more hope

But I carry on

Waiting to hold

Our baby in

My embrace

I walk away

Not hearing your name

Thankful for

Small blessings

Longing for

Just one miracle

I settle down

Among our furs

Reaching out for you

But it's mere

Shadows & mist

Voices stir

Around the village

He's returned

He's here

Laughter fills the air

Sadness fills my soul

Knowing your

So far away

Then I hear

Your raspy voice

Asking to settle down

Underneath our furs

I drift off

Into a dreamless sleep

With your arms

Around me

Your hand upon my

Swollen belly

Sweetly you whisper

I shall name her

In the morning light

Pushing away

The shadows & the mist

love poemsvintage
3

About the Creator

KA Stefana

I started writing as a hobby during quarantine. From a hobby, a passion bloomed. Author of Dark Fantasy with a twist of romance. Available on KU - The Origins of Darkness, The Daughters of Darkness and The Forgotten.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • katja James12 months ago

    Hauntingly beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.