Poets logo

The Doubt

Here she lies in my mind. Forever will she live.

By Bushra ShahriarPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Quentin Dr on Unsplash

Slowly, she consumes me

from the inside-out.

Trust no one;

trust everyone.

There she is;

the doubt.

Can I tell you my

deepest, darkest secrets?

Will you tell the world?

Even when you've vowed secrecy?

Are you sure?

There she is;

the doubt.

My childhood best friend, I once called you.

Was that so?

So why have I only ever really known

your favourite colour?

Plum, right?

I'm no idiot.

But look, she's back.

There she is;

the doubt.

You're going out?

Out with who?

Out with who? Where?

Out with who? Where? Doing what?

With who?

Is that so?

Oh, look over there.

There she is;

the doubt.

I don't want to think like that anymore.

I want to know how to trust,

I really do.

But I've learned that's dangerous.

People

are dangerous.

She protects me,

she's always watching.

See, there she is again;

the doubt.

She wants me to be alone.

The deeper she digs into my mind,

The harder it is to ignore her.

It's easier to be miserable.

She's ruining our happiness.

But there she is always;

the doubt.

She might be in my head forever.

She may never go away.

Sometimes, it's like she never existed.

Other times, she's all-consuming.

But the right people will help me.

Oh, hello. I don't think we've met before. What's your name?

the doubt? It's nice to meet you...

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bushra Shahriar

A 22-year-old student studying at Keele University - writer and poet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.