Poets logo

The dog metaphor is tired

But so am I

By Joni ÉcritPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
2
The dog metaphor is tired
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

A dog I've seen before runs behind a tree

I can't decide if I have to follow

or to turn around and find the street

White rabbit or yellow brick road

Ending up standing like the tree

The dog may run behind me

and I can safely see if he is kind or un

The demons looming over my bed

The boogeyman under it

Or the angel on my shoulder

Guardian from dread

The dog bears it's teeth in the woods

Like you smiled at me

and I should've known the ghost that scares

Not a spirit in a tragedy

surreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssad poetrylove poems
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani18 days ago

    I did not see that ending coming. Very fascinating turn of events on this topic.

  • This was so poignant. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.