Poets logo

Maggie

Do you love me?

By Joni ÉcritPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
1
Maggie
Photo by Trac Vu on Unsplash

Dark brown eyes with your light smile

Run it back to the day we met

Long straight hair and a suspicious air

We don't know why just yet

Up the steps, I saw you walking

Up to my front door

Not here for me no, not for me

At least not til you're 24

Rosaries tied in pretty string

Hanging from your neck It's beautiful

Apologies fall from your mouth, please

As if my heart isn't yours

It's not up to me what it is you see

Especially not like this

And forgive me please but I think I need

Something sweet to come from your lips

I'll quietly retreat down into the bleak

Of my own rotten soul

and you'll watch me sink would you even try

To save me at all

It's alright I will live but with

You, I'll thrive

Let me dream just a little more

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake13 days ago

    Beautifully written. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.