Poets logo

The Dichotomy of 48

~Performance Poetry~

By Tiffany Gordon Published about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
15
The Dichotomy of 48
Photo by Caroline Veronez on Unsplash

*Struggling to see and arthritis in the knee... Surely... this can't be me...

at 48...

*Thinning edges & no longer comfortable walking in high-heeled wedges... Surely... this can't be me...

at 48...

πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯

*My soul & spirit fed and a great deal of wisdom in my heart and head...

Heck Yeah, that's me at 48!

*No longer afraid to take a chance & bold enough to wear neon, green polka dot pants...

Heck Yeah, that's me at 48!

πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯

Aged 48 is such a strange age...

At...

times...

I...

feel...

robust...

yet...

frail...

as...

Helly...

at...

others...

Either way... I'm blessed to see it!

I can't wait to see what epiphanies 49 will bring!!!!😊

performance poetry
15

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Tiffany, I could feel this. I am sending strong Wellness Vibes your way. Thank you for the poem! πŸ‘

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    I love the positives/negatives take on this 😁. There is always a trade off haha ❀️

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    Hey Tiffany. How are you. Did you get the Coronavirus Vaccine by any chance. I ask because it messes with our bones. Much younger people are having bone troubles because of it.

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    This is so encouraging. πŸ’– Happy 48th!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome!!! Loving it!!! So relatable!!!πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’•

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing your story through poetry once again. I feel the same way. I don't understand why I am dealing with this in my fifties (started in my forties). At the same time I feel stronger and more comfortable in my own skin than I ever have. Thank you once again for writing something so poignant and helps more people β€οΈπŸ’œβ€οΈπŸ’œ

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Very bold lady here(are we allowed to say lady, i'm so confused) πŸ•΅οΈβ€β™€οΈ. Admitting your age is the boldest thing. You better walk those bones to keep them strong, age is just a number. Never give in, let the bones know who is boss. Gorgeous poem. You actually look like 28. 🀩

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Oh, I loved this a lot! A whole lot and love that the fire doesn't die! My wife loves being in her 50s because of some of the reasons you said - not giving a crap anymore! So although our bodies get more messed up...the older we get, the more we don't need to do what we "think" we should. Great stuff, Tiffany!

  • Strong piece πŸ˜‰πŸ’―πŸŽ―β€οΈ

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    Oh Tiffany, so true, but what’s a body to do, nice spot in writing 😊

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Sending you healing vibes ❀️πŸ₯° 49 is just the beginning. God Bless πŸ™πŸ½

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.