Poets logo

The Depths of a Heart

and beyond

By Tara DawsonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Artwork by Tara Dawson

Unspoken Words

You ask, “why are you so quiet?

Tell me

My lips welded and stationary as the words sit tightly.

Sound rests safely in my throat holding thoughts of what is unspoken.

Heavy words hang, restricting emotions of what could or should be.

I feel your piercing stare making analysis of the blank page before you

Listening as time swings by like a bowling ball on a pendulum swing

Both uncompromising and unforgiving.

I think to myself I shall spare you the sadness of my voice.

I shall spare you the saltwater within my eyes.

I shall spare you the constant questioning of my mind.

But most of all,

I shall spare you the heavy burden that is held within a padlocked heart,

For your ears are not meant to hear this and my heart is not ready to share.

Artwork by Tara Dawson

Picture on the Wall

Sometimes I stare at your picture on the wall

I stare hoping that you can somehow feel my concentration upon your face, even though it’s quite literally impossible

I love to let it pull me in sometimes by pretending I’m still there with you

And let me tell you darling we have been on so many magical adventures together..

We visited Edinburgh and Amsterdam

We sat on your mother’s couch watching sci-fi movies with your ginger cat

We got high and listened to music together and this time I didn’t cry on you or try seduce you

We went on sunset walks together and rode bikes around the town without holding the handlebars

We comforted each other after a bad day and fell asleep hugging but this time I slept closest to the door

We read books that we both recommended and tried new things

And then we revisited the Dublin bar where we first met and when you put your hand on my face I didn’t pull away this time

I didn’t hold back, I let myself surrender to what should have been

I didn’t leave you hanging and I followed you outside where we talked and laughed and eventually I fell in love with your smile and you fell in love with my eyes

I’ve spent time wishing we were still in Dublin with your hand upon my thigh and your devilish smile beaming out of your beautiful face

But the truth is we haven’t been talking romantically for quite some time now

And these new memories aren't real and never will be

Your picture is blue tacked to my wall

Just a picture on the wall.

Artwork by Tara Dawson

Falling for the Moon

Crispy air and violet sky stir in an aesthetic dye to glaze our dreamy eyes

As the waning moon blesses the moment with her lily pad shine

A light flickers within a romantic.

Their heart dancing with the planet of imagination.

Allowing life, love and lust to wonder across our dizzy brains as we trip over blissful visuals

Falling down, down

Deeper in love.

Art by Tara Dawson

The Hand of Darkness

Death come take me deep into the woods.

Let’s have a trip, lets make this fun.

Crossing and getting entangled in strangers’ paths

As spacious demon territory begins its suffocation

darkness lends me its feverish hand.

GRIP GRIP GRIP

RIP RIP RIP my skin,

Cut it deep, spill the blood to cleanse this fragile body,

Die the purple flowers crimson and smell that subtle iron in the air

LA LA LA

HA HA HA

Another victory for the earth at the expense of the hand of darkness.

Artwork by Tara Dawson

Blue Carpet

My heart is sore and bruised

As my body lays upon the blue carpet in my room,

I start to imagine my chest peeling open to reveal the gruesome mess that lies within.

An artwork of Red, Black, and blue

With floral patchwork placed on fleshy wounds and loosely bound with weathered threads.

One more hit and it will surely shatter into disaster

How long can this hold?

How much more can my body take?

Before the wounds win, the threads snaps and the blue carpet bleeds red.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.