Poets logo

The Daylight People

Or: "Solace Amongst the Dead"

By Will MustinPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2

Some find comfort by the sea

near the gentle lull of waves

I find solace in a cemetery

Among a marble ocean of graves

-

Some may sit in the shade under

Oaks, in light placidity,

But my heart finds ease in thunder

And my soul craves morbidity

-

Many those who remember

the bliss of warm summer days

But I prefer bleak December

Wand’ring through a gloomy haze

-

I live betwixt dead and dour

For in this I feel alive

And find more in the mid-night hour

Than all of daytime could contrive

-

Yet there they lounge in sunlight

And sip their vanity

That heedless, cheery, fragile, bright

Whole of humanity

-

But I have no need for such relief

Whilst I wade in waters stygian

For what is their comfort, I believe,

But a balm against oblivion?

sad poetryvintagelove poems
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.