Poets logo

The Day the World Ended

how it is.

By Katie woodsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Day the World Ended
Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

Snowflakes were falling, like ashes from the sky

A year ago today, I didn’t say goodbye

Starting to fear now, I’ll never get the chance

Didn't go to a single stupid dance

Silly this and silly that, didn’t think it mattered anyway

Everything that I could say

The weight of words that go unsaid

The price stuff costs, you never did

I’ll remember what you said in class

Like that

Like your smiles, and what it feels like to laugh

Forgive me, I forget faces fast

But all your faces, are pasted in my head

I could never drag myself out of bed,

But for some of you though, I’d crack a smile

I thought I hated Monday

You were the best part anyway

For awhile it was easy to pretend

I guess now we know, we all had friends

Our screens are blank, I’ve got a headache

We’re all on eternal mute

I think I’ve forgotten how to smile

Our grades are all slipping, our doors are all locked

I didn't know you mattered, that much

Now I replay old videos just to hear all your voices

For all your stupid advice,

for the times you got us separated,

for all the safety drills and seating charts,

for all the times I couldn’t stand you...

I don’t know how to do this without you

So I guess I’ll just lie here and rot

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Katie woods

Katie is a slime mold hunter that likes to watch people and write stories. She's been autistic every since receiving a radioactive vaccine as a child.

That was a joke. She is joking.

That's how she got superpowers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.