Poets logo

The day I let her go

When Sisterhood gets hard

By Jillian A. WeissPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I can't turn off my empathy

The day I let her go, I held my hands up and looked to God above, always near, always here. That is what I was taught. Everything on this Earth is temporary, here today and gone tomorrow. We don't know what we have until it's gone. And so here I sit at my desk, wondering, how and when this became such a mess? Empathy comes naturally to me, when I see the hurt, no one is free. When a person becomes a part of me. There is no rest for the weary. I know this isn't goodbye, it's see you later. However, each time we are apart. I can't help but think of you and the masks that those other girls will wear.

Please sister, tread with care, I know you're strong. But I wish I could stand with you there. I know your pain, I've absorbed it. When you stopped eating and started heaving. I wish I found you first, I wish that I could heal all of your hurt. It's not a joke, it never was, you might have felt like you were one. But you aren't and never were. When your room lies empty, I turn the lights on. Because the darkness is my enemy. I'll see you soon.

I will be waiting right here for you.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jillian A. Weiss

I'm 24 years old looking to put myself out there as a writer and make my voice heard. I write poetry and fiction. I may branch out into other genres too. If you like my work please leave a tip!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.