Poets logo

The Day

I knew

By Stephanie HallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Day
Photo by Travis Grossen on Unsplash

The day I knew it was time to get up and move on,

The day I knew it was time to say good bye to the bad things,

The day I knew it was time to say hello to good things,

The day I knew it was time to leave,

The day I knew it was time to escape,

Was the day I fell in love with you.

The day I fell in love with you everything made sense,

The day I fell in love with you is when I felt the safest,

The day I fell in love with you it was like my heart mended

Until the next time it breaks.

Until the next time it breaks I will be fine,

Until the next time it breaks I will forgive,

But I know I will eventually move on again.

I told you about my fear of needles,

I told you about why I am so insecure,

I told you I almost died at age five,

I told you why I am terrified to become a mother,

I told you why I didn’t want to be with someone who has a kid with another,

I told you things I kept from my best friend,

I told you and you said they don’t make you love me any less than you already do.

You said I saw the ribbons in your hair first,

You said you knew I worked with children,

You said I like your butt,

You said you like it when I squat down,

You said I love your personality,

You said my smile is beautiful,

You said I’m sorry for your history with operations and needles,

You said I won’t put you down like those who have before,

You said I will protect you and keep you safe as long as I can,

You said your child adores me and that scares us both,

You said one day you will marry me and I hope we do.

When we have money we will buy a house,

When we have money we will put food on the table,

When we have money we will be able to have kids,

When we have money we will make amazing memories,

When we have money we will own our own cars,

When we have money we can start up our business,

And we will succeed.

We will succeed by being better versions of ourselves,

We will succeed by being able to help others get a job,

We will succeed by making people smile,

We will succeed by showing our younger selves we made it in this big scary world.

Younger me use to believe I would be single forever,

Younger me still believes the verbal hits about my appearance,

Younger me still sees the flaws you think are beautiful,

Younger me is still scared hoping you don’t turn around say this relationship was a joke,

Younger me prays you stay for as long as possible,

Younger me prays you stay true to your word.

Current me is thankful for you,

Current me is slowly believing your words,

Current me is turning away from the bullies,

Current me is finding herself slowly,

Current me is healing.

Together we can do our best,

I promise to support you,

You promise to support me,

If we have arguments we will resolve them,

We may cry,

We may get mad at each other,

We may take break away,

But I won’t stop loving you unless there is a good reason.

The day we succeed the younger me will be thankful the future me did what the current me dreamt of.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Stephanie Hall

Slowly getting back into writing, still trying to actually finish a story and feel good about it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.