Poets logo

The Dance

A Poem

By Susan DownsPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2022
51
The Dance
Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

It’s all become a dance now…

It starts in my mind and moves throughout the limbs of my body.

A move to the left: “Can I start you out with some drinks?”

A twirl to the right: “Are you ready to order?”

I smile, I laugh and as I float to the soda machine, my tables are laughing and talking.

Coffee cups and saucers, and the clinging of great cheer.

The Dance has begun!

Sharing and pulsating,

Walking and passing,

Crunching ice and the balancing act;

Refilling with no spilling…

In the meantime, checking your dance shoe-strings

they gotta stay tight!

Dim light warms the room, as day passes to night,

Quiet somber thoughts through a beer and a book;

First date, last fight,

Contemplation,

A meal before a flight-

It’s all become a dance now…

As I take flight, removing plates; the show ends soon.

No mistakes!

I tip-toe to the back room, that’s my green-room

Checking my costume

For stains-

and my face for lack of them.

This dance has run a very long time

I look to my Council in rhyme:

An invitation to the Ball

I am grateful and I am small,

To have even been able to dance at all.

performance poetry
51

About the Creator

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Fiona Lenzabout a year ago

    Love that you made us feel like we are there with you, beautiful writing

  • Cynthia Fieldsabout a year ago

    Beautiful.

  • Georgenes Medeirosabout a year ago

    nice..

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    I can't dance, and I am from Jamaica. Lol. I am glad you are able to dance.

  • Kristopher Saimabout a year ago

    Love the energy throughout this piece!

  • Neo Natsuabout a year ago

    Love it❤️

  • James Kimberly about a year ago

    As a poet I must say this is beautiful

  • Oliver Johnsonabout a year ago

    Beautiful imagery and associations... I look forwards to reading more!

  • Gabordabout a year ago

    Thanks for the update and quick reply. I'll be sure to keep an eye on this thread. https://www.myacpny.me/

  • Alice Abyssabout a year ago

    Cute poem!

  • Amy Bellabout a year ago

    A poem that is totally related to me. I had done that dance for many years! I loved it, can't wait to read more from you!

  • Tabitha Kristy Spearsabout a year ago

    Personally, I'm not fond of poems. I find them confusing. This poem on the other hand made sense to me and was really good. I wouldn't mide reading more by you.

  • Justin Oabout a year ago

    Wonderful work... Now I'm dying to write.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Been there, did the dance and loved it

  • Eric Brooksabout a year ago

    Lovely! I can ‘hear’ the restaurant in your beautiful dance.

  • Satu Myyryabout a year ago

    I love it.

  • Shane Harrington about a year ago

    lol and then I signed in, nice;)

  • Caitlin Nightingaleabout a year ago

    i love how lyrical this is, the flow from word to word & idea to idea felt like a dance. thank you

  • A perfect description of working in the restaurant business!

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    I enjoyed this/ how I feel when things click

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    I enjoyed reading. It really is a dance to be a waiter or waitress in a crowded restaurant and definitely an art to getting all customers served. Hearted and subscribed ❤️

  • Manpreet Singh Bhinderabout a year ago

    Good one.

  • Gina B.about a year ago

    Such a sweet way to describe working in hospitality. Brought some joy to my day!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.