Poets logo

The Crossroads

Heart vs Mind

By Sarah JanePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Crossroads
Photo by Ivan Aleksic on Unsplash

Hours and hours go by

as the showers rain

It feels like minutes only passed by

With you time feels irrelevant

:

Flowers bloom in

the house of my veins

As the music and the lovin'

is paired with sparkling conversation

:

Feels like I've known you forever

but it's only been months and days

:

Feels like I could love you forever

yet feels that you've taken my heart in vain

:

Fighting my feelings

because I don't wanna make another mistake

:

Fighting my feelings

because I don't want the joy to become pain

:

As much as I have given to you

sometimes I wish I didn't

Yet as much as you have given to me

makes me feel conflicted

:

Sometimes I wish we could go back

to the days we were planning our dedication

Sometimes I wish we could go back

but that's the past

and the current is where we stay

:

Sometimes I wish I could tell you

all the things in my brain

Tell you about all the feelings

pumping in my veins

:

I know you've been acting real coy

because you feel me too

I know we could make something special

if you made me your boo

:

But you keep yourself distracted

in the arms of girls who will never be me

And I think it's because your past got you scared

to dive deep into something real

:

But I don't blame you

my past has me presently

scared sometimes too

:

As much as I care

and would love for us to finally date

I won't sit here feeling like an option

Someone you don't value for what I bring

:

Because I'm someone special

and if you don't love me right

I'll find someone else who will

:

But I'm back and forth

with my head and my heart

Still there's something about you

that keeps me hanging on

but I guarantee it won't be long

if the uncertainty carries on

:

Because as much as I trust you

and love how you make me feel safe

As much as I love all the ways

we laugh, make love, and relate

:

I just can't keep holding on

to someone who won't cherish

the value of what we share

in the connection we create

until they realize it's too late

:

But there's a part of me

in the heart of me that hopes

you'll figure it soon

and we can take a leap of faith

:

Yet there's a part of me

in my mental attic telling me

I can only hold on for so long

and guarantees that I won't wait

:

The battle seems endless

between the heart and mind

At the end of the day

At the end of the line

:

At the crossroads

I hope it's our souls that shine

when we finally decide

:

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.