Poets logo

The Crimson River

A Story of Depression

By Linda BromleyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Crimson River
Photo by Elan smith on Unsplash

I’m in that dark murky world again

The one with the deep crimson river

Syrupy on my skin as I swim to the shore

I struggle to pull myself onto its banks

Because the liquid is so warm and friendly

Clinging hard, it doesn’t want me to go

I lie there dripping streams of red diamonds

From my hair onto the black sludge around me

I drag myself up to standing and look about

My arms turn to deep rust as they dry, cracking the clots that didn’t fall

I gingerly take a few steps into the sea of dead grass, so high I barely see over it

Grass seeds scratch my skin and catch my clothes

I wrench them free and find shelter in a dead tree

Hollowed and burnt out at its base

It’s the perfect fit for me

I don’t know if it’s day or night or the twilight gloaming

I fear the latter as that’s where my head lives

With people chasing me down as I never stop running

Always guns to my head as I try to hide

Or worse - the weapons that reverberate all around

Here they come now, their footsteps muffled

Yet I hear them loud as thunder

“You’re pathetic and worthless and we hate you!”

Each word has such kickback as I shrink

To feel the roughened charcoal of wood graze my back

My tears create a new river down my face

Merging with the red

I see nothing but deadness here

This world, all alone in the hues of black, brown and grey

The only life I see is that river and it’s calling my name

I know I shouldn’t but I just can’t resist

Carefully I creep back to the bank and

I let myself slide in and under

It engulfs me, and my heart pounds with delight

I feel safe here, I’m surrounded by warmth

They can’t get me here and I’m lulled to sleep by the ruby waves…

~

~

~

… then I wake to see I’m in a hospital bed with bandaged arms!

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Linda Bromley

Just one of many creative outlets for me has been books! My whole life I’ve loved them and it’s so easy to make the jump to writing.

Recently I completed a poetry challenge and now, looking for more excuses to write, I’ve found myself here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.