Poets logo

The Final Lockdown?

It’s all coming together for them, and we allow it!

By Linda BromleyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Final Lockdown?
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I don’t own my life

I don’t own my home

I don’t own my stuff

I don’t own my choices

Soon I won’t own my thoughts

Others manipulate everything

What we choose

What we say

What we’re interested in

And the trends we follow

It’s all digitally watched

What we spend

Where we go

Who we see

And what we do…

… We already had the dry run

It went off without a hitch

Most were in compliance

And now they move ahead

With plans like 2030

I refuse to say those three scary words

Which ones I hear you ask?

I dare not say it here dear friend

For I know there’ll be reprisal

And maybe I’ll live to regret it!

I’m labelled many things

From friends who just don’t get “it”

Funny how it’s all come true though

And people I once laughed at

Well, they saw it coming all along

I dread the day we find we’re trapped

In a world of our own making

Allowing those with money who

Make all our choices for us

As we blindly give permission

Hey, let’s go off the grid

Building communities together

Where like minded friends and loved ones

Can share and grow and live and love

In harmony with no eyes watching

In these end of days

I can’t wait for the much longed time

When Jesus Christ comes roaring back

My Lion of Judah, in all His Glory

Coming to take us home

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Linda Bromley

Just one of many creative outlets for me has been books! My whole life I’ve loved them and it’s so easy to make the jump to writing.

Recently I completed a poetry challenge and now, looking for more excuses to write, I’ve found myself here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.