Poets logo

The Colors of Pain

A Poem of Empowerment

By Kayla CrowellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

My wrists were as red as the rose

As my veins I would expose.

My heart was blue and black,

Colored just like your attack.

Sadness painted me like a kaleidoscope of pain,

Now I wear these hues as trophies of my gain.

I have overcome the darkness you created,

Now my hurt is gone, has been abated.

I was once mistreated and brutalized.

Now I am strong and I have realized,

That these colors are mine to take and to hold,

I wear them now like badges of gold.

The blue in my heart now sits upon my head.

The red my wrist would cry now tints my cheeks when I smile instead.

The black outlines the art inked on my body,

The pigmentations a rainbow of gaudy.

I am a display of art and ink and color and love.

Your marks no longer etched on me as displays of

Your anger and cruelty.

Now I step with dignity.

I am loud and chromatic and there is pride in my walk.

There is happiness and vibrancy when I talk.

Your power over my body and mind has ended,

And the colors of anguish now into joy has been beautifully blended.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Kayla Crowell

Kayla is an aspiring author with three works that are currently undergoing the editing stage. She also writes poetry and is an amateur artist. She loves to sing, especially to her little boy, and is also and aspiring singer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.