Poets logo

Coming Soon To A Bookstore Near You

Mark the date : 30 May 2024

By Colleen Millsteed Published 13 days ago 4 min read
3
Photo courtesy of the Author

My second book has finally received a publication date — 30 May 2024.

Save the date!

I feel this book has taken its own sweet time going through the publishing process when compared to my first book.

On saying that, I have used a different publisher this time around and did find they took a lot longer to complete each step of the process, but it looks like we finally got there.

The title of the book is :

Empathy of Love : The Good, The Bad, The Crazy

This is a book of poems that’ll take you on a wild journey from the ups and downs of love, to the romance and toxicity and everything in between.

The book’s foreword explains this in further detail :

Isn’t love grand?

The butterflies in the tummy, the heart racing, the joy of feeling the love, especially the rewarding sensation of giving and sharing mutual joy, caring and support.

Our world of love captures the wonderful love of a parent for a child, which is awe-inspiring; the preciousness of the love between friends; the sensuality and bond of a life partner; the fleeting moments of love for a stranger; and many more fun-loving relationships.

Sadly, though, not all love is equal and it’s not all necessarily moonshine and lace.

Love is also risky, messy, heartbreaking and soul-destroying when the end is near and after the closing of a chapter.

Then there are the toxic relationships disguised as love, such as the users and abusers, whose aim is to wreak havoc and heartbreak and there is the darkness received by domestic abuse victims. Both forms of love are crippling and detrimental to the mind, body and soul.

This collection of poems is based on my experience of love in all its shapes – the good, the bad, the crazy.

Excerpt from Empathy of Love

A Heart Full of Hope

Knowing That We Will Meet Again

Image courtesy of Pixabay

My memories of you are always at the very forefront of my mind,

All those years that we laughed, loved, supported and cared,

And in those years there are some of the happiest times of my life,

Which I constantly relive, especially during the times I’m scared.

 **

We were there for each other, holding tight in a metaphorical hug,

You’d give me solemn advice when I was falling apart and sad,

Although during those times, you, too, were uncertain about life,

You slipped into my heart, ignoring the fact it was armour-clad.

 **

Nothing was ever too much and there were times you put me first,

My most treasured memory was you forgiving my greatest mistake,

As I held on tight through the rough seas, leaning on your shoulder,

And you wrapped me in your loving arms, soothing my heartbreak.

** 

On the days that I thought I’d never survive, you encouraged me,

And when I was happy and giggling in glee, you laughed too,

During my nightmares, you were my knight in shining armour,

Congratulating me when I found my strength and pulled through.

 **

You welcomed me in from the cold and sheltered me when I was in need,

During the heat, you passionately stood by my side, sword in hand,

As the two of us fought my demons, scarring them as they fled,

I was never alone; I never had to run; you helped me take a stand.

 **

Do you remember those few precious days that were just for us?

Where we hid from the world, soaking up the peace and quiet,

Where there was no longer one, no longer a solo soldier fighting,

But two, ready to take on the entire world, willing to start a riot.

 **

I can hear your encouraging and loving words whispered in my ears,

Because you never doubted me, never gave up on my inner strength,

There were days I felt I was a coward, unworthy of you, of the world,

It was all you working tirelessly to get me on the same wavelength.

 **

Never a harsh word between us, you ignited my compassion, my love,

One of the proudest moments of my life, giving to you all you needed,

When I was able to return the support, convince you that you’re worthy,

To insist you stand tall, head held high, watching as you succeeded.

 **

There were times you were your own worst enemy, conceding defeat,

Swamped in the darkest corners of your torturous and bleeding heart,

Caging your soul, locking it behind those hideous metal bars, chained,

It’d take my all to coach you back into the light, insisting on a fresh start.

 **

Then, one unexpected day, you were gone, ripped violently from my world,

There’ll never be another capable of filling that devastating hole in my chest,

But I take comfort knowing that we will never end; there’ll always be an us,

You, the other half of my soul, the protector of my heart, were the very best.

 **

I wait for that day, knowing it’ll show up at just precisely the right time,

Knowing that you, too, are waiting, biding your time on the orbital plane,

Both anticipating our reunion, our connection too strong to ever die,

I take great comfort in knowing that one day, my friend, we’ll meet again.

Appetite whet? Would like to read more?

Then save the date as it will be available from 30 May 2024.

In the meantime, you may enjoy my first book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

love poemsbook reviews
3

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran13 days ago

    Wooohooooo congratulations!!! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊 It's such an honour to be friends with you hehehehehe

  • Judey Kalchik 13 days ago

    Congratulations Colleen!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.