Poets logo

THE COLOR OF MY SOUL

My Soul Shines With Many Hues

By VALERIE THOMPSON Published 3 years ago 1 min read
THE COLOR OF MY SOUL
Photo by Jeffery Erhunse on Unsplash

They say I am a “WOMAN OF COLOR”, because of the melanin in my skin.

But I try to tell them in order to understand my essence, you must familiarize yourself with my SOUL.

My SOUL shines with many hues.

My SOUL is RED when I hear the beats of my favorite song. 

BOOM, BOOM, BOOM- the base be bumping, while I am dancing and gyrating like there is no tomorrow.

My soul is RED when I hear the preacher man reciting verses on a Sunday morning.

He inspires me to repent of my sins before my SOUL is turned to BLACK.

BLACK…BLACK…BLACK…

My SOUL is GRAYand BLUE when I grieve for the friends and family members who have gone too soon but know they are in a better place. 

My SOUL is green with the changing of Spring into Summer.

Those lazy, crazy, hot days of Summer.

My SOUL turns YELLOW when I am walking amongst nature, bringing calm to my psyche.

When I hear raindrops, hitting the cement, outside my window, my SOUL flitters LAVENDER.

The rain puts me into a deep slumber.

PEACE.

My SOUL burns ORANGE like a hot flame, enraged with anger when I turn on the television set and hear there has been another murder committed.

I fight back the tears and try to BREATHE, all while raising my fist in the air shouting power to the people.

My SOUL turns a dark shade of PINK, screaming Women Power, Women Rock, equal pay for all Women.

My SOUL shines with many hues.

They say I am a “WOMAN OF COLOR”, because of the melanin in my skin.

But I try to tell them in order to understand my essence, you must familiarize yourself with my SOUL.  

social commentary

About the Creator

VALERIE THOMPSON

My BIO is simple. It goes something like this:

"When I stand before God, at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, “I used everything you gave me…"

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VALERIE  THOMPSON Written by VALERIE THOMPSON

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.