Poets logo

The Closing Of A Chapter

Necessary but painful

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 1 min read
The Closing Of A Chapter
Photo by Ryan Graybill on Unsplash

Starts in the chest, a dull ache

A heart that is running its own race,

As it sinks, of its very own accord

Toughen up, grieve at your pace.

***

Regrets, live with each and every one

Trying to learn the necessary lessons,

Not all is bad, there’s some good to see

Although I’m not proud of my confessions.

***

Missing, pining, a different outcome

Too late now, the race has been run,

It was short and sweet, devastating

There were parts that were even fun.

***

Dreams, wishes, hopes and desires

All experienced at one time or another,

The good is written in stone and mortar

Memories and feelings for the other.

***

Tales woven in magic and grace

A part of life to never be forgotten,

Carried buried deep in my heart

Little nuances tried and begotten.

***

One day we will remember fondly

Not yet, it’s way too soon and new,

Private thoughts tormented

Replacements, we’ve both a few.

***

I’d love to talk some more one day

Learn, educate, mischievous play,

I would listen to all you had to say

We’ll both survive and finish okay.

***

At night, I vividly view and remember

No escaping my real life dreams,

You never did feel as you promised

You quit regularly or so it seems.

***

Our time is lost, never to be again

I’m thankful you cut off all hope,

You severed it quickly, one swift cut

Giving me the tools needed to cope.

***

Remember one day, the possibility

The outcome and our potential,

Discarded as easily as the bath water

Pain immediate and consequential.

**********************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

heartbreak

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.