Poets logo

The Change

To Go Where the Light Goes

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
8

TRUE

Lo! My heart and hands ached for you every day in your absence until my heart… just… died.

I plunged my aching hands into a hollow cavity where a heart used to be, expecting the numbing cold of the void, but in a tumult of seething anguish I birthed a sun.

So(u)l exploded into existence like a single rose blooms in a desolate waste.

A welcome death, and a prelude to greater life.

Is this:

Blessing or curse,

Hell or Heaven,

Light or Dark,

Pain or Pleasure,

Joy or Sorrow,

Anguish or Ecstasy?

I still do not know.

I just know it is true.

***** * *****

MINNOWS’ CREEK

Minnows in the shallow water, basking in the sun. When the light is full, they huddle together and swim on top of each other, hoarding, cavorting. When the shadow of my hand creeps over them they move in unison, away from the shadow, to stay in the light together; but when a cloud moves over the sun, and there is no light toward which they might turn, they scatter into smaller groups or go off alone.

***** * *****

Uncle Iroh

The most noble

Manifestation

Of fire

Is the hearth.

***** * *****

‘Round the Drain

You can step over my body

But you can’t replace my mind.

Tis of no value or virtue, you think,

As you swirl

‘Round

--------------------->The

-------------------------------------------------->Drain

In the behavioral sink;

But I swam against the current so long

That my mind is sharp, my body strong.

<>

I’ll wave to you from the edge

And renew my solemn pledge

To teach the lessons I master

In hope to avoid the next disaster.

***** * *****

But Why?

How can all these things be worth loving but not worth living for?

How can we remain trapped in a room with an open door?

How can the things we most love lead to such bitter despair?

How can we lose

And forever punish

Those who would choose

To fulfill our one wish,

To demonstrate they really care?

<>

Though it is true

That those who

Hath the how

Hath no need of the why

It’s also cheap

To forever steep

The sacred Tao

In a motherfucking lie.

***** * *****

You Lied

In casual conversation

With a man walking by,

I died. I died. I died.

I died and I don’t know why.

<>

I keep trying

To understand

But the broken

Part of me

<>

Falls

<>

Falls

<>

Falls

<>

The broken part of me falls

And I don’t know why.

<>

Like an unnamable secret

Hidden in plain sight,

You lied. You lied. You lied.

You lied and I don’t know why.

<>

I don’t know why.

***** * *****

The Change

There’s a secret pain

I will take to the grave.

I made peace with it

But it haunts me

And I hate my self

And I become

Some One Else

And no one sees

The change,

The change.

I will take to my grave—

The change,

The change.

<>

I will take to my grave the change.

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
8

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Your writing is excellent. I must say, I was thoroughly impressed.

  • Veronica Coldiron6 months ago

    I caught myself standing at the edge of my life in a dream this morning, staring down into an unnamable void. This reached the bottom of it. Great story, and I needed that!

  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    I couldn't quite follow everything - there was just so much depth but the parts that I did get I absoLOVED.

  • Oooo, loved this collection! My favourites were True, Minnow'e Creek, But Why, You Lied and The Change!

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    CRB - Certainly a ‘Change’ for you - — I always look forward to what you have for us next — JBK

  • Wow! I am literally speechless. You said so much here. You put your heart and soul, your emotions on display for all to see. You took a chance and let your vulnerability out. I can respect you for that. Excellent work as always!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.