Poets logo

The Cereal Days

The narrator is tired of eating poisoned cereal.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished about a year ago 1 min read
The Cereal Days
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

How long

How long

How long

How long

Can I wet my lips and swallow the poison

In my cereal before it kills me?

.

I dream of days full of rain and sleet and cracks

Splintering white across a dark sky

And I dream of the faces they illuminate.

Pale smiles in the storm light,

Crooning melodies beside the thunder.

.

What am I holding in my hands?

They unfurl and reveal dead birds and bad decisions

Both wet and matted with blood.

Not the bird's but mine from my bleeding heart

And words too sympathetic for the devil

I'm throwing them at.

.

The memories are rancid

But I keep shoving them down my throat

In the hopes that one of them will nourish

The shrinking cave in my gut.

I am starving,

Hungry for wet lash lines and truth.

.

I am falling asleep where I stand

Dreaming of the eyes in the clouds

And the golden honey in your smile.

Where will I stand when the birds fall from the sky?

How long can I endure the dismal dark

Of the days before you came?

.

There is no answer for me to find,

Only the bottom of another poisoned bowl of cereal.

But I will keep pouring the Cheerios

Into their ceramic cradle

And splash it with milk and toxicity

To catch one hallucinogenic glimpse of you again.

.

Silver Serpent Books

.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Testabout a year ago

    So sad and moving. Love it, Silver Serpent 💕🙂

Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.