Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Box

The Sad Girl Saga

By Robyn Esperanza McMahanPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
The Box
Photo by Becca Tapert on Unsplash

TW: SH and SI

The Syringe.

It’s cold and I’m on my way to school. I keep my head down against the wind. That’s why I see it. The syringe.

I stop. My heart is the loudest thing in my vicinity. I happen to know that if I stick a needle in my arm and release an air bubble it will go to my heart and I will die.

I should leave.

I should walk away.

But there’s a notebook in my backpack. And on the very last page, there is a countdown. I’m a senior but the countdown isn’t for graduation or days until college. It chronicles the days left that I intend to breathe.

I stuff it in my bag and hurry to the bus.

Two Stuffed Animals and an Apology Letter.

I wish I remembered more about us. His hair is a soft golden brown. His eyes a vivid green. He smells like Irish Spring soap and the freckles on his face go down his back. See? I remember him.

But I don’t remember the dirty details or the specifics of my sins against him.

“I want an open relationship,” I say to him.

He’s crying again. All he ever does is cry. He cries more than me. I yell and he cries and it makes me hate the color of his eyes.

“Okay,” he agrees, giving me anything I want. And though I am the one that set these conditions it makes me want to scream.

The apology letter is a formality. Something he knows is the only thing that will end the fighting. At least for the day.

A few weeks later he throws a chair across a room because I am bleeding in his bathroom over a man that isn’t him. This new man told me it isn’t going to work.

I’m only twenty and I’m not sure that I work.

The Razor Blades.

“We were just a fling.” I don’t know why it hurts. He only kissed me once. We met four weeks ago.

There’s a mirror across from me atop a dresser. A dresser full of porcelain dolls that are prettier than me. I watch myself cry in the mirror.

I call three people before I make my move but no one answers and now there are drops of blood on the floor.

It’s not as deep as I thought. I should probably go to the hospital anyway. But I don’t.

Gauze.

I stay with a friend that night.

We walk to his house. He lets me wear his t-shirt and cleans and bandages my arm. He doesn’t say much. His mother makes me dinner. He asks me why but I don’t have a good answer. I fall asleep covered in the blanket with the sunflowers on it. I take a picture of the blanket in the morning. I post it on Instagram with a caption that says it’s been a long weekend and that I am too tired to do my homework. My mother comments: Don’t overdo it. I like those straight A’s.

I wear the bandage he made for as long as I can. It feels like a friend holding my hand.

Striped Underwear and a Condom Wrapper.

I’m on the bus to the house of the guy who called me a fling. We started talking again just a few days ago. I left my boyfriend. Officially. It’s over. I feel like a runaway. The cut on my wrist is mostly scabbed over but it twinges once in a while and the muscle around it is still sore.

It’s snowing when I get to his house. He lets me in and kisses me on the mouth. I’m nervous. He shares a room with his brother so we make a fort out of blankets in the living room.

Sweater.

The next morning, I steal his sweater. I tell him I’m borrowing it. That I’ll wash it and give it back. But I don’t. It smells like him and when he wears it you can see the tattoo, he got for me on his chest. He wants to go to LA. And I don’t want to be anywhere. I said I’d go with him. We’re making a plan.

Read more from The Sad Girl Saga:

People Need A Melody

Almost Girl

A Letter To: The Guy That Got His First Tattoo for Me

A Letter To: The Guy That Keeps Me Up at Night

About the Creator

Robyn Esperanza McMahan

Hey, I am Robyn Esperanza McMahan and here you'll find my personal essays.

Social Media: @bookishbyrd

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Robyn Esperanza McMahanWritten by Robyn Esperanza McMahan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.