Poets logo

The Bookstore

If you want something - go and get it

By Grz ColmPublished 3 years ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
17
The Bookstore
Photo by César Viteri on Unsplash

It was just a small store, secondhand, but full of books,

Somewhat poky to move around in,

Almost cavernous, so really, just perfect.

Upon entering, I browsed in the sci-fi section.

The shopkeeper, an older man, who looked like

he’d worked there for over forty years approached,

“Are you having fun?” He asked.

“Yes, just looking at the blurbs and so forth. Are you having a good day?”

He muttered something under his breath

about the sci-fi books and then,

“I’m just checking to make sure all of the books are straightened -

They’re of a certain quality you see.”

And he returned to his flailing two- seater lounge,

at the back right-hand corner of the store to read.

“Do you have card facilities?” I asked, after making my choices.

“Pub across the road will help you out,” he stated.

“Okay, I’ll be back shortly”.

“I’ll be here reading,” said the man.

“Good book?” I asked on my return.

“Yes, uh.., er.., an Australian detective series from the 60’s. Very good.”

He got up from the lounge chair,

and looked at the four thriller genre books I’d selected,

and stacked these on top of each other.

“That’ll keep you busy until tomorrow!” He guffawed.

“That’s twenty-two dollars.” The man continued,

“People say uh.., - I’d like to have a bookshop, well.., I made one!”

“Yes, it’s very good,” I acknowledged.

“Yes - they are of a certain quality, you see.”

“Very good quality,” I nodded. “Have a good afternoon,”

I smiled to the shopkeeper.

As I exited, the bell on the door rattled softly.

-2021

* Thank you for reading my “slice of life” narrative style poem. A couple of months ago I returned to the little bookstore on South Road, and asked after the gentleman. His wife there informed me that her husband had passed away last spring. I had not been there in a while, so I was glad to have captured this little interaction with him, however small.

Please consider hitting the heart if you liked the short poem, or consider subscribing to encourage my future poems and short stories. Many thanks.

You can also check out my recent poem “Covers” here:

performance poetry
17

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Rebecca Pattonabout a month ago

    This was a nice and heartwarming read! Good job!

  • Raymond G. Taylorabout a month ago

    What is it about book shops and book sellers? I often wander around them, seldom buy anything - too much choice. When I do buy I think I read fewer than 1 in 10 of my purchases. But I keep going back... This captured the feel of a bookshop perfectly. So well done and thanks for sharing

  • Sandra Tena Coleabout a month ago

    Oh! 💔💓💕💖

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    What a beautiful snapshot of a totally significant moment in life. So many of them we don't recognize. I could even smell the old books.

  • Ghulam Fayyaz5 months ago

    nice way to write ans summarize it

  • I really like this because it has heart and it's outside of the interior. I love reading things that get me out of me and into slices of life. I love learning from those slices of life. Good work Grz.

  • DEUXQANE6 months ago

    It's the small, fleeting moments that we get to capture before they're gone forever that resonate strongly with me. Catching a glimpse of his life that existed at the same time as you, only to later know he's not there anymore, has an incredible impact on the shortness and frailty of our lives.

  • Loved this… it reminded me of the Arthur Upfield “Inspector Bonaparte”detective novels I enjoyed in my youth.

  • Is there anything better than a small book store. Well done really enjoyed this slice of life

  • Patrick M. Ohana6 months ago

    Some bookstores are unforgettable.

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    I read The Bookstore again. Still my favorite. It feels like home.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    This was such a beautiful moment in time for you to capture. It feels so "mundane" (for a lack of better word) but has this layer of depth that really builds the story! I love this little passage!

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    This was such a beautiful slice of life and a way to acknowledge the way some people make an impact.

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    This is my favorite of all your stories. I would like to own a bookshop, never too late, even if books are not so popular anymore. I love this story.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Owning a bookstore was my dream. In my next life I will, or sooner. This is a most wonderful little story. True, Right. Angels that we meet in passing. I love this walk down the road.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.