Poets logo

The Bleak Midwinter

Heavy emotions uncover another "blue haiku"

By Allison RicePublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
The Bleak Midwinter
Photo by Alex Padurariu on Unsplash

“What’s the matter, hon?”

He always asks, every time.

“It’s all just too much”

I don’t have the words to express what’s wrong.

I am overcome with emotions that roll down my cheeks.

I choke back painful sobs, then stifle a laugh because…what is this?

I’m barely participating in Christmas this year and have worked to minimize holiday stress.

Am I channeling the harried anxiety of others?

Does the empath that is me feel their loneliness and despair?

Does it reflect my own, or am I bearing the weight of generations of psychic scars? Isn't that what holiday traditions are, after all? Doing what we think we should because it's what we've always done?

I thought that I was holding it together pretty well, but this moment reveals me a liar.

I think I need another hot cocoa.

social commentarysad poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Allison Rice

Finalist 2022 V+ Fiction Awards, Allison Rice is a work in progress! Author of 5 previous Top Story honors including “Immigrants Among Us” "Pandemic ABCs" and a piece about Inclusion, Alli is an avid reader, and always has a story to tell!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    Gosh I feel this. I find society too just puts so much pressure on the holiday season that it’s like an anxiety filled celebration

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.