Poets logo

The Betrayal

A poem about lost love

By Shruthi RajaramPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
6
The Betrayal
Photo by Marah Bashir on Unsplash

He held me close to his heart.

Made me trust him from the start.

Promised that I was always the one.

That all his careless days were done.

Showcased me like I was a treasure.

His love, I knew in no way, I could measure.

Still, I tried to measure it from the number of tears,

That rained his cheeks when he came across my fears.

From the number of his hidden chuckles,

To the times he traced and retraced my knuckles.

From the number of our inseparable nights and days,

When time ran away, just like sunshine on rainy days.

From those number of familiar touches,

Before he reached the light switches.

But like everything, our love was left to time’s test,

And with time all that progression came to a rest.

The counting soon came to an abrupt halt.

And I couldn’t comprehend — who is at fault?

He first introduced her to me just as his friend.

But boy I wished they could at least pretend.

I thought our life was just taking a small bend,

But never knew “we” were nearing a dead end.

A naive me still could hear his voice echo “Nothing will change”

But it wasn’t until he put me in the exchange.

That I knew — for him I was just another book to read.

But for me, he was my one and only reader.

~The story of every unsold book at the second-hand book store.

~Shruthi Rajaram

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for reading, if you liked it don't forget to heart and subscribe.

Until next time. Ciao!

Shroo <3

love poems
6

About the Creator

Shruthi Rajaram

Writing is my medium to pour my heart out to the world. I feel any writing should be impactful and relatable. It should be able to tell the reader they aren't alone in this world.

New to Vocal in hope of pursuing my dream of writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.